Monday, 10 June 2013

Poster 2 Annotations

 
 
 
 
 

Step-by-Step [Poster 3]


Step 1
Like all projects I initially started by creating new project. To do this I opened the Photoshop editing programme by selecting File > New.




Step 2
I selected my paper settings of International Paper, A4, and made sure that the resolution was 300pixels/inch.



Step 3
I then wanted to import an image of a Mask on a black background. I achieved this by going to File > Open and by selecting the folder I wished to look in from the Look in dialogue box. I selected the file I wanted then clicked on Open. This makes this image the background layer.

 


 




Step 4
To ensure any changes I made didn’t affect the original background layer I duplicated this image. I achieved this by right clicking on the mouse and by selecting Duplicate Layer.





Step 5
I then wanted to make the image of the Mask smaller so that I could fit other images and text onto the page. To do this I ensured the layer I wanted to edit was selected, as shown in the screenshot above, and then selected Edit > Free Transform.



After resizing the image to the size I wanted I had to apply the transformation before any effect took place.




As can be seen here, the image is now smaller giving me ample space to fit any other images or text.
 



Step 6
I then wanted to import another image and edit it to the size I wanted. I found a quick way to do this was to go to File > Place.



I selected the folder from the Look in dialogue box. I selected the file I wanted then clicked on Place.




The image then appears on top of the current image but as a new layer to enable the editing of the image.



Step 7
I then resized the image by clicking and dragging the top right corner to the size I wanted. I positioned the image to the bottom left of the page.



Step 8
The image had harsh square edges and I wanted to blend them in a little by softening the edges. To do this I first used to Zoom Tool in the Tool Bar on the left hand side of the editing programme.



Then, at the top in the tool options I selected the Increase Zoom option.



By hovering over the section of the image I wish to zoom in, therefore making that part of the image bigger, I am able to edit the image more effectively as shown in the screenshot below.



Step 9
To smooth out the edges I used the Eraser Tool in the Tool Bar.



By holding down the left button on the mouse I am able to access the hidden tools. From the three options available to me, I decided to stay with the pre-selected Eraser Tool.



From the tool options I selected a Master Diameter of 141px and a hardness of 0% to not make the edges appear as harsh as they were previous.



Here is a screenshot of the Eraser Tool being used.



Step 10
I wanted to add another image and to do the same thing to it. I achieved this by following steps 6-9. The screenshots below demonstrate this procedure.












This is the image of my third poster before I added any text.




Step 11
To add text I selected the Text Tool in the Tool Bar.




By clicking and holding on the left button of the mouse I am able to choose from four options. I was happy for my text to go traditionally across the page, therefore I selected the Horizontal Type Tool.




I am to choose the font, font size and font colour among the options. I decided to use the Castellar font at size 12 and in the colour white.




By choosing the Text Tool and the options this automatically creates a new layer as seen in the following screenshot.




I then inserted text and positioned them where I wanted on the poster. Here are numerous screenshots showing my progress as I placed numerous written texts.
















I wanted the title of the film to be in a different font, size and colour. To do this I went to the tool options and from the drop down box I change Castellar to Colton Grundy, changed the font size to 48, and changed the colour to red. To change the colour of the font I click in the white box towards the right of the tool options.



By dragging the small circle around the box I could change colour of the text. I then clicked OK to confirm the change.



As I did with the previous text I typed and then positioned where I wanted the written text to go.






Step 12
The final step was to save my image as a JPEG file so that I can use or distribute my product. I could, although I personally don’t as it’s an unnecessary procedure, go to Layer > Flatten. This condenses down all the layers into one image prior to converting to a JPEG file. Here is a screen shot of this option.




I prefer to go File > Save As




To which I come to this window. [N.B: Whatever options you choose you come to the same window in the same amount of steps]. In this window I can choose the folder on my computer where I wish to store my image, give the file a recognisable name and select the format, in this instance a JPEG, before clicking on Save.




Once I have clicked on save a final window appears in where I click OK.









Friday, 7 June 2013

The Human Exchange Shooting Schedule

A Production Schedule is used so shots, scenes and sequences can be grouped together. This saves on production costs as scenes, although the same scene may be in different parts of the movie, will be shot together but initially out of sequence.

By grouping scenes and shots together the Producer can get the cast and crew, as well as any other factors needed on a shoot, as close to the right time as possible.

On occasions, as with my film The Human Exchange my Production Schedule had to change due to a number of factors, which are explained in my blog The Human Exchange Production Problems and Solutions.

Below are some screenshots of my Production Schedule.

My original Shooting Schedule before one of my
actors was taken ill with tonsillitis.



The rescheduled shoot meant that more
work had to be done on Day 1.

The Human Exchange Shot List

Many productions will use storyboards and shot lists to enable the Director and Producer to organise the production shoot. The Director on set or location will predominantly use a storyboard with his cast and crew to help him explain how the Director wants the scene to look visually. A shot list is used more widely but the Producer and this is used to help him schedule the shoot and create calling sheets. These are used to inform the cast and crew where they have to be and when as many film shoots take place at numerous locations. I would have liked to have had created a storyboard but due to time limitations I was unable to and so I had to work using a shot list and from this shot list I was able create a Production Schedule. Below is the PDF of my Shot List.

The Human Exchange Log Sheets

Log sheets are used by the Editor of the movie to identify where shots are on a tape, or as more film making starts to turn to digital technology, files on a memory card, so that the Editor can locate the shots they need during an edit.

During this process the Editor will also identify which shots are the best out of the numerous takes there may be for any given scene. The Editor will mark the shots either as “good takes” or “bad takes”. I have done the same as seen below in my screenshots.

I found using a log sheet was enabled me to keep track of the shots that I needed. I was also able to ensure that I selected the right shots from numerous takes. Although this is a time consuming procedure from the start, when it comes to editing it speeds things up as one is then able to focus on editing the right shots and also only import or drag onto the time line the files that are needed.